Thursday, 30 January 2014

Impossible Series Reading Order

*Please see the latest post on this matter for the Official Impossible Series Reading Order*

It has come to my attention that it is impossible to easily discern the Impossible series reading order.  (See what I did there?  Yeah, I never claimed to be funny.  I'll stick to angst.)  So here's the skinny:  I wrote the original Impossible trilogy as a set of three serialized novellas that told the story of Sean and Claudia's tumultuous romance.  Monster, Traitor, and Avenger were the three installments of the Impossible series.  But then one of my favorite characters (name omitted here to avoid spoilers) from the trilogy wanted his own HEA.  In fact, I loved him so much that I allowed him to survive the trilogy, which wasn't my original intention.  I'm so glad I did, because I love him and all of his crazy, damaged, kinky friends.  They, of course, then demanded their own stories.

This left me in a bit of a quandary.  Is Savior supposed to be Impossible #4?  Well, not really.  It is a complete story arc that can stand alone, not a continuation of Sean and Claudia's story.  My solution was to call Savior an Impossible novel, a spin-off that is set in the same world as the original Impossible trilogy, but that isn't directly connected to Sean and Claudia's story.

The Original Trilogy, Savior, and Knight can each be read as standalones.  The characters are connected, but the story arcs are independent of one another.  If you do want to read them in chronological order, here it is:

Impossible: The Original Trilogy (Monster, Traitor, and Avenger) (Impossible #1-3)
Savior (An Impossible Novel)
Knight (An Impossible Novel)

There you have it.  The official Impossible reading order.  Now I'm about to throw a wrench in it when I publish Rogue, which mostly chronologically takes place between Savior and Knight, but parts of it happen during both of those books.  Maybe I should make some sort of crazy overlapping timeline.

I want to tell these stories based on the immediacy of the characters rather than necessarily sticking to chronology.  Some books will span a time frame that is covered in two or three other books.  All of the characters are connected in some way, but many of them have their own shit raining down on them simultaneously.  Life is messy like that.

After Knight, there are seven more Impossible novels planned, and that number keeps growing all the time.  Generally, the timeline will progress as the books are released, but there will be quite a bit of overlap.  I will endeavor to make it as clear as possible where the books fall chronologically as they are released.

Thanks so much for your support, and for your understanding!  I know this style is a bit unconventional, but I hope that it won't affect your enjoyment of the books.  They are, after all, about each couples' story, not necessarily what's going on with everyone else in the Impossible world at any given time.

I'll keep you posted here on how my crazy brain is working and how the different stories slot into place.

Much Love,
Julia xxx

No comments:

Post a Comment